Scenes from this Weekend

As I was laying in bed last night I kept taking super deep breaths and loving how the chilled air stings your nose a little. Which is my way of saying that it finally got cooler here in New York. All of last week we were in the 70s, sometimes up to 78, and then last night temps plummeted and we’re suddenly hanging out in the 40s and 50s. I unabashedly love coats so I’m on board with this seasonal change.

Here are a few pictures I took while cruising around this lovely city this weekend (and a few from the past week)

store opening 034

Andrew Loo, a friend from our Minneapolis days was in New York for work! We had Korean BBQ, as they don’t have it in Minneapolis. It was his first time in New York City so after dinner we needed to stroll through Times Square…

store opening 037

It is a pretty spot. If only less people were around…

upper west 002

Saturday morning I strolled up my favorite street, 5th Avenue, and came upon this adorable family Halloween-fest in Madison Square Park! I tried to not look creepy strolling around as a single female without children, but I did really enjoy seeing all the families out enjoying the day!

upper west 005 upper west 007

This is what outdoor time looks like in New York! I think kids that grow up here are super lucky and are exposed to so many great things and diversity, but I took a picture because I realize that it looks quite different than Minnesota…

upper west 008

How cute is this?!? They had a green screen where kids could pose in their costumes. I don’t know what they made the background but I can guarantee it was 100% cute.

upper west 012

And then back home! The fountain looked extra pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

upper west 013

My favorite part of the fountain is sitting along the shallow steps.

upper west 024

Oh hi! Scarf and North Face weather! And this is what I look like these days ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m considering bangs. Thoughts?

upper west 029

Jessica and I met outside the Museum of Natural History on Sunday so she could take me on a tour of the Upper West Side. We went to a flea market filled with clothes, furniture, jewelry, and food. I had a very tasty empanada. I definitely love taking a step back and realizing how many amazing, unique food options there are here.

upper west 033

The Upper West is so pretty. Loved these townhouses!

upper west 039

I realized a bakery I had heard about a lot, Le Vain, was nearby so we detoured over. This was the line to get into the little basement shop, but thankfully cookies move quickly!

upper west 041

A nice man offered to take our photo ๐Ÿ™‚

upper west 042

We split a chocolate chip with walnut and it was incredible. Worth every ounce of hype. Super huge (it looked like a scone) and still steaming warm! The chocolate chunks were huge and melty. Oh lord, just talking about it is making me crave a return trip.

upper west 044

And finally, I will leave you with this glorious Ostrich eggย that was sitting atย Whole Foods! I should have put my hand next to it to show you size- they were huge!

Here’s to an awesome new week!

Standard

5 thoughts on “Scenes from this Weekend

  1. Linnae Grabner-Hegg says:

    That cookie looked truly awesome! I made some at home that looked a lot like that, except not as big and not enought to break in half and share. I love the pictures, as always.

  2. Stefanie Marroquin says:

    Hey Lauren! fyi – I am so enjoying your updates and the lovely images of New York! You should feel privileged too because you are the only e-mail subscription I don’t delete when it hits my box! ๐Ÿ˜€ I just wanted to weigh in on the bangs and say “go for it!” I think it would look great on you!

    • Hi Stefanie, Thank you for saying hello and more importantly for weighing in on the bang situation! I’m leaning toward “going for it” and will definitely keep ya’ll posted ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jessica says:

    Yay to another fun weekend! I want another cookie ASAP. Also, you can call those townhouses Brownstones (even if they aren’t all brown) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

