A New York City Weekend

New York City. The city that never sleeps. The one place where you can stay up all night and still be blinded by the bright lights of Times Square. The subway runs 24/7 and bars never close. We’ve heard it all.

But I’m married. I’m 27, and while that isn’t old by any stretch of the imagination, it does mean that I currently harbor zero desire to hang out in a club and my ability to recover from a late night hangover is diminishing at alarming rates.

What I’m saying, is that, while I have spent late nights out in the city I have not spent late/crazy/only-in-New-York nights out yet.

This weekend changed that. And now, on Monday, I’d say I’m finally fully recovered.

On Thursday we had a very special date watching Aziz Ansari do live stand-up comedy at Madison Square Garden. Aziz is always fantastic and I was thrilled for my first chance to go to Madison Square Garden. It felt super New York-y no? Just don’t tell anyone that I had always imagined Madison Square Garden to be outdoors…you know, a garden? Spoiler alert: It’s an indoor auditorium. Still cool, still very New York. But I just thought I’d share that tidbit with you.

Two friends from grad school, Kim and Ashley took the train from DC up to New York for the weekend. I got the house ready and halloween-y for their visit.

aziz 042

pumpkin lights!

aziz 039

After catching up over snacks and wine it was time to head over to the show!

aziz 047

Aziz’s posters are plastered all over and this was very exciting of course!

aziz 048

On the way to our seats we saw Amy Schumer (along with basically every single famous comedian in New York City) It was very exciting and my smile is about to break my face. I was too embarrassed to ask for a photo so Ashley did it (thanks, Ashley)  I must say that Amy was crazy nice. SO NICE.

aziz 050

Ahhh! So excited!!!!!

aziz 075

Aziz!!!!!!!!!

After the show Kim suggested getting dinner at the Spotted Pig, a popular spot in the West Village. The show didn’t end until 1:30 AM which meant we could check out a very popular spot without a wait. The restaurant was not near Madison Square Garden, which is important to note because as we sat there AZIZ ANSARI walked through the door!!!!!!!!!! What?!?!?!??!?!?! It was incredibly exciting. His two opening acts and all of his family was there. OH MY GOODNESS we were freaking out. Despite many, many attempts we were not allowed to go upstairs to meet him but we did stay at the bar until it closed at 4 AM waiting for him to come downstairs (our meal ended at 2:30 so this wasn’t super crazy). Then we walked home, got a slice of pizza which we ate along the fountain at Washington Square Park. At 5:30 AM we finally slipped into bed and thankfully my gracious husband wasn’t even mad at that very early arrival. 🙂

The night was filled with celebrities, larger than life venues, amazing food, insane coincidences, pizza by the slice, and ridiculous New York landmarks. Overall, it was a perfect perfect PERFECT New York evening.

The rest of the weekend to come….

Standard

One thought on “A New York City Weekend

  1. Linnae Grabner-Hegg (Mom) says:

    Wow! I’m not sure you’re fully recovered because for one thing…it’s Monday the 13th. Wow! You got to meet Amy Schumer! That is amazing. It’s hard to make me laugh out loud, but she can do that to me. She’s a very “nice” comic so I would think that would of course carry through in real life. Just as I was wondering how it was that you haven’t run into any celebrities when half of them live in NY. Now you have. What fun…and I’m sure you were totally safe and aware of your surroundings as you gallivanted through the city that never sleeps.

Leave a Reply

